New York Yankees on the 2022 Baseball Hall of Fame Ballot

The National Baseball Hall of Fame and Museum in Cooperstown, N.Y., has unveiled its 2022 ballot. The 2022 BBWAA Hall of Fame ballot features 30 former players, including 13 new candidates and 17 returnees. Seven on the ballot are former New York Yankee Players, most notable are Alex Rodriguez, Mark Teixeira, and Andy Pettitte.

Every year the Hall of Fame and the baseball writers put forth a list of eligible players for the annual ballot. Last season the writers did not put threw any new player to the Hall. However in 2019 Derek Jeter was elected to the Hall one short of an unanimous vote. Because of the pandemic he was not installed until last July.

This years list will be voted upon and the results announced on 6 p.m. ET on Jan. 25 on MLB Network. If there are any electees, they will be inducted during the Hall of Fame Weekend on Sunday, July 24, at 1:30 p.m.

Alex Rodriguez:

Even his detractors because of his use of performance enhancing drugs will have to admit the Rodriguez is one of the best baseball players to ever play the game. He started his career with the Seattle Mariners and was already a big star when he became a Texas Ranger. By the time he reached the Yankees he was already a baseball legend.

During his tenure in the Bronx, A-Rod blasted 351 long balls, won two MVPs, three silver slugger awards, and was a six-time All-Star. He ended his career with the Yankees with a .283 batting average over 12 years. He should be a shoe in for a place in the Hall, although some writers will not vote for him due to his short drug involvement.

Mark Teixeira:

The switch-hitting Teixeira launched 206 home runs in the Bronx, earned one silver slugger award, three gold glove awards, and was twice an All-Star. Mark did his best hitting for the three teams he played for before the Yankees. Nevertheless he hit .248 over eight years in the Bronx. He was known for his excellent defense at first base. He had a fielding percentage of .997.

Andy Pettitte:

Known as the best postseason Yankee pitcher, Andy spent 15 years with the Yankees boasting a 3.94 ERA and a record of 219-127. But what he is most known for was how he pitched in important games particularly in the postseason.  In 32 series he was 19-11 with a 3.83 ERA.

Andy Pettitte will go down in Yankee history as the winning-est postseason pitcher of the modern era. Andy, with his number 47 already retired, will always be a favorite player for the Yankees, as shown by the huge ovation he got when he returned for his first Old Timer’s Day in 2018.

Others on the ballot:

Former Yankees’ returning to the ballot are Roger Clemens (tenth and final year), Gary Sheffield (eighth year), Andruw Jones (fifth year), and Bobby Abreu (third year).

Early Baseball Era Committee and Golden Days Era Committee for Hall of Fame election for the Class of 2022. These Era Committees will both meet on Dec. 5 at baseball’s Winter Meetings in Orlando, Fla.

The Early Baseball Era ballot includes Bill Dahlen, John Donaldson, Bud Fowler, Vic Harris, Grant “Home Run” Johnson, Lefty O’Doul, Buck O’Neil, Dick “Cannonball” Redding, Allie Reynolds, and George “Tubby” Scales. All of these candidates are deceased.

The Golden Days Era ballot includes Dick Allen, Ken Boyer, Gil Hodges, Jim Kaat, Roger Maris, Minnie Miñoso, Danny Murtaugh, Tony Oliva, Billy Pierce and Maury Wills. Of this group, Kaat, Oliva and Wills are living.

The results of the Early Baseball Era Committee vote and the Golden Days Era Committee vote will be announced live on MLB Network’s “MLB Tonight” at 6 p.m. ET on Sunday, Dec. 5.

Allie Reynolds was 182-107 over 13 years with the Indians and Yankees, with six All-Star team selections. He led his teams to six World Series titles, going 7-2 with a 2.79 ERA. He twice finished in the Top 3 of the American League’s Most Valuable Player Award voting.

Jim Kaat had a long coreer, playing his last season with the New York Yankees. When his was finished pitching he bacame a Yankeee announcer. Kaat was named to three All-Star Games and helped the Cardinals win the 1982 World Series.

Roger Maris won back-to-back American League Most Valuable Player Awards in 1960 and 1961, setting a new single-season home run record in the latter season with 61. In 12 big league seasons with the Indians, Athletics, Yankees and Cardinals, Maris earned seven All-Star Game selections and was a part of three World Series title teams.




Mentioned in this article:

More about: