MLB announces list of Silver Slugger Award finalists, with five Yankees

New York Yankees, Aaron Judge

The New York Yankees’ offense wasn’t always reliable or productive during the 2021 season, but that doesn’t mean there weren’t stars or good performers. The team did hit 222 home runs, the third-best mark in the American League.

Now that the Silver Slugger award finalists have been announced, it was revealed that five members of the Yankees are in the group.

These Yankees’ hitters are among the finalists:

DJ LeMahieu (2B): .268, 10 HR, 57 RBI; 2 Silver Slugger Awards (2019, 2020)

Aaron Judge (OF): .287, 39 HR, 98. RBI; 1 Silver Slugger Award (2017)

Gary Sanchez (C): .204, 23 HR, 54 RBI: 1 Silver Slugger Award (2017)

Giancarlo Stanton (DH): .273, 35 HR, 97 RBI; 2 Silver Slugger Awards (2014, 2017)

Joey Gallo (DH): .199, 38 HR, 77 RBI; 0 Silver Slugger Awards

Three other teams, other than the Yankees, have at least five finalists, all good offenses: the Toronto Blue Jays, Houston Astros, and Atlanta Braves.

The league page states that winners will be decided by votes from the managers and three coaches of each team.

The full list of finalists:


1B: Vladimir Guerrero Jr. (TOR), Yuli Gurriel (HOU), Matt Olson (OAK)

2B: Marcus Semien (TOR), Jose Altuve (HOU), DJ LeMahieu (NYY), Jorge Polanco (MIN)

3B: Rafael Devers (BOS), José Ramírez (CLE), Kyle Seager (SEA)

SS: Carlos Correa (HOU), Xander Bogaerts (BOS), Tim Anderson (CWS), Bo Bichette (TOR)

OF: Cedric Mullins (BAL), Teoscar Hernández (TOR), Aaron Judge (NYY), Kyle Tucker (HOU), Mitch Haniger (SEA), Lourdes Gurriel Jr. (TOR), Hunter Renfroe (BOS), Randy Arozarena (TB)

C: Salvador Perez (KC), Mike Zunino (TB), Gary Sánchez (NYY)

DH: Shohei Ohtani (LAA), Yordan Alvarez (HOU), Giancarlo Stanton (NYY), Joey Gallo (NYY), Nelson Cruz (TB)


1B: Freddie Freeman (ATL), Joey Votto (CIN), Paul Goldschmidt (STL), Max Muncy (LAD)

2B: Ozzie Albies (ATL), Jonathan India (CIN), Jake Cronenworth (SD), Justin Turner (LAD)

3B: Austin Riley (ATL), Manny Machado (SD), Nolan Arenado (STL), Patrick Wisdom (CHC)

SS: Fernando Tatis Jr. (SD), Brandon Crawford (SF), Trea Turner (LAD), Willy Adames (MIL)

OF: Juan Soto (WAS), Nick Castellanos (CIN), Bryce Harper (PHI), Bryan Reynolds (PIT), Adam Duvall (ATL), Jesse Winker (CIN), Tyler O’Neill (STL)

C: Buster Posey (SF), Will Smith (LAD), J.T. Realmuto (PHI), Omar Narváez (MIL)

P: Germán Márquez (COL), Max Fried (ATL), Jacob deGrom (NYM), Madison Bumgarner (ARI)

Mentioned in this article:

More about: