Mets News: Alonso, deGrom named finalists for NL ROY, Cy Young

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on reddit

The New York Mets normally don’t hear their players’ names called for the annual BBWAA awards handed out at the end of each season. Yesterday, the BBWAA announced the three finalists for their year end awards. Mets 1B Pete Alonso was named one of the three finalists for NL Rookie of the Year and Jacob deGrom is back in the hunt for another Cy Young Award.

2019 BBWAA Awards Finalists

AL MVP: Alex Bregman, HOU; Marcus Semien, OAK; Mike Trout, LAA
NL MVP: Cody Bellinger, LAD; Anthony Rendon, WSN; Christian Yelich, MIL

AL Cy Young: Gerrit Cole, HOU; Charlie Morton, TBR; Justin Verlander, HOU
NL Cy Young: Jacob deGrom, NYM; Hyun-Jin Ryu, LAD; Max Scherzer, WSN

AL Rookie of the Year: Yordan Alvarez, HOU; Brandon Lowe, TBR; John Means, BAL
NL Rookie of the Year: Pete Alonso, NYM; Mike Soroka, ATL; Fernando Tatis Jr., SDP

AL Manager of the Year: Rocco Baldelli, MIN; Aaron Boone, NYY; Kevin Cash, TBR
NL Manager of the Year: Craig Counsell, MIL; Mike Shildt, STL; Brian Snitker, ATL

Both deGrom and Alonso are favored to take home their respective awards according to a late-season MLB poll.

From Anthony DiComo of

Alonso, an overwhelming favorite to be named NL Rookie of the Year after hitting a Major League rookie-record 53 home runs in his first season, joined Atlanta’s Mike Soroka and San Diego’s Fernando Tatis Jr. as finalists. The BBWAA will reveal the winner on Nov. 11, during a 6 p.m. ET show on MLB Network.

deGrom, who won the NL Cy Young Award last year, took a step closer to repeating when he joined a group of finalists that also includes Washington’s Max Scherzer and Los Angeles’ Hyun-Jin Ryu. Although deGrom didn’t quite match his 2018 Cy Young numbers, he finished 11-8 with a 2.43 ERA and a league-high 255 strikeouts in 204 innings. The winner will be announced on Nov. 13, also at 6 p.m. ET on MLB Network.

deGrom would be taking home the seventh Cy Young Award in Mets history. The previous winners were: Tom Seaver in 1969, 1973 and 1975; Dwight Gooden (1985), R.A. Dickey (2012) and deGrom last season.

Alonso would be the Mets’ 6th NL Rookie of the Year joining Seaver (1967), Jon Matlack (1972), Darryl Strawberry (1983), Gooden (1984) and deGrom (2014).