Mets, Nationals Will Face Off Twice on National TV in Opening Week of 2020

New York Mets, Jacob deGrom

The New York Mets will be the team that Major League Baseball has chosen as the featured opponent of the World Champion Washington Nationals on National broadcasts during the opening week of the 2020 season.

From MLB:

ESPN will provide Opening Day coverage that begins with the defending World Champion Washington Nationals visiting the New York Mets (1:10 p.m. ET), followed by the Los Angeles Dodgers welcoming the San Francisco Giants (4:10 p.m. ET/1:10 p.m. PT), and culminating with the 2019 American League Champion Houston Astros hosting the Los Angeles Angels (7:10 p.m. ET/4:10 p.m. PT). ESPN will broadcast an additional seven games during the first week of the season following traditional Opening Day.

 

FOX will begin its 2020 national coverage on Saturday, March 28th when the Mets host the Nationals at Citi Field at 4:05 p.m. (ET) on FS1, followed by the Atlanta Braves visiting the Arizona Diamondbacks at Chase Field at 8:10 p.m. (ET)/5:10 p.m. (PT). MLB on TBS live game coverage will return on Sunday, July 5th and will continue each Sunday through the end of the regular season.

The Mets will be the home team for the March matchups which will likely feature Jacob deGrom versus Max Scherzer and Noah Syndergaard against Stephen Strasburg.



The Nationals (93-69) finished the 2019 season hot in second place in the NL East four games behind the Atlanta Braves. The Mets were third with an 86-76 record.

Washington qualified for the postseason as a wild card and ran the table, first by defeating Milwaukee in the Wild Card play-in game then defeated the Dodgers in five games before sweeping the Cardinals in the NLCS. In the World Series, the Nats stunned the Houston Astros in seven games, winning the final two games in convincing fashion at Minute Maid Park.

The Mets were also one of the game’s hottest teams down the stretch, playing .639 ball (46-26) after the All-Star break.