Mets’ Jacob deGrom wins second consecutive NL Cy Young Award

New York Mets, Jacob deGrom

Follow ESM On Social


For the second consecutive season, New York Mets’ ace right-hander Jacob deGrom has been named the National League’s  Cy Young Award winner by the BBWAA.

deGrom bested the other two finalists, Washington’s Max Scherzer and Hyun-Jin Ryu of the Los Angeles Dodgers, receiving 29 of the 30 first place votes.

“The deGrominator” became just the sixth National League pitcher to win the award in consecutive seasons. Max Scherzer, Clayton Kershaw, Tim Lincecum, Randy Johnson and Greg Maddux are the others.

The award is the seventh won by a Mets pitcher: Tom Seaver won three (1969, 1972, 1975) followed by Dwight Gooden (1985), R.A. Dickey (2012) and deGrom (2018).

“deGrom led the National League in strikeouts, ranked second in ERA and third in innings, making him the only pitcher to finish even in the top seven in all of those categories. He also led the league in both Baseball Reference and Fangraphs’ valuations of pitcher WAR, while finishing second in WHIP and third in ERA+” –  (

Per the Elias Sports Bureau, deGrom ended the year with a 23.0 scoreless inning streak, the longest by a Met to end a season in franchise history. The previous best was 15.0 scoreless innings by Rob Gardner (1965), Terry Leach (1982) and Noah Syndergaard (2018).

Like this article?

Never Miss a Post!

Subscribe and get notified everytime we publish new content.

Leave a comment!