New York Rangers’ Igor Shesterkin wins Vezina Trophy as NHL’s top goalie

Rangers G Igor Shesterkin in net
Jun 11, 2022; Tampa, Florida, USA; New York Rangers goaltender Igor Shesterkin (31) looks on during the first period against the Tampa Bay Lightning in game six of the Eastern Conference Final of the 2022 Stanley Cup Playoffs at Amalie Arena. Mandatory Credit: Kim Klement-USA TODAY Sports

New York Rangers goaltender Igor Shesterkin wins the Vezina Trophy for the first time in his young career.

Igor Shesterkin was named the winner of the Vezina Trophy on Tuesday night.  The New York Rangers goaltender won the trophy following an incredible 2021-2022 season where he led the league in goals-against average (2.07) and save percentage (9.35). His 36 wins were sixth in the NHL. Shesterkin won the award in his first season playing 50 or more games. He is the 16th goaltender to win the Vezina Trophy in their first season playing 50-plus games and the first since Tuukka Rask (2013-14 – 58 GP).

The Vezina Trophy is awarded annually to the National Hockey League’s goaltender who is “adjudged to be the best at this position” at the conclusion of each season.  The 32  NHL general managers vote to determine the winner. It is named in honor of Georges Vezina, goaltender of the Montreal Canadiens from 1910 until 1925.

Shesterkin helped lead the Rangers to their second-best season in wins (52) while taking the Blueshirts to the Stanley Cup Playoffs for the first time in five years.

The 26-year-old did not lose three consecutive games in the regular season. The Rangers advanced to the Eastern Conference Finals losing the Tampa Bay Lightning 4-2 despite holding a 2-0 series lead.  The lighting won the final four games, which was the only time Shesterkin suffered four consecutive losses all season.

The last New York Rangers goaltender to win the award was Henrik Lundqvist in 2012.

Jacob Markstrom of the Calgary Flames and Juuse Saros of the Nashville Predators was the other finalist for the award.

Past New York Rangers Vezina Winners

The Rangers have had five previous winners of the Vezina Trophy.

  • Dave Kerr- 1939-’40
  • Eddie Giacomin and Gilles Villemure -1970-’71
  • John Vanbiesbrouck – 1985-’86
  • Henrik Lundqvist- 2011-’12

Shesterkin is also a finalist for the Hart Trophy which is awarded to the NHL’s Most Valuable Player.

Vezina Voting