New York Rangers’ Colin Blackwell nominated for Masterton Trophy by PHWA

New York Rangers center Colin Blackwell was nominated for the 2021 Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

The surprising 2021 season for center Colin Blackwell continues as was nominated for the Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy from the New York Rangers chapter of the PHWA.

The trophy has been awarded since 1968 to the player who best exemplifies perseverance, sportsmanship, dedication to hockey. A grant from the PHWA is awarded annually to the Bill Masterton Scholarship Fund, based in Bloomington, Minnesota, in the name of the Masterton Trophy winner.

The trophy was presented by the NHL Writers’ Association in 1968 to commemorate the late Bill Masterton, a player for the Minnesota North Stars who exhibited, to a high degree, the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey. Masterton died on Jan. 15, 1968, after an injury sustained during a game.

Blackwell averaged 14 minutes per game playing on different lines throughout the season. In 47 games the 28-year-old scored 12 goals along with 10 assists for 22 points.

He signed as a free agent w=ith the Blueshirts following two seasons playing in Nashville where he scored a combined three goals in 33 games over two seasons with the Predators (2018-2020).

The Rangers have had five players who have previously won the award;

Dominic Moore – 2014
Adam Graves – 2001
Anders Hedberg – 1985
Rod Gilbert – 1976
Jean Ratelle

Last year’s winner of the award went to the Ottawa Senators Bobby Ryan.

Follow Frank on Twitter @RangerProud

Mentioned in this article:

More about: