Home New York Mets New York Mets: How Many Awards Can Pete Alonso Win?

New York Mets: How Many Awards Can Pete Alonso Win?

by Daniel Marcillo

It is safe to say Pete Alonso has already exceeded the expectations of the New York Mets throughout his rookie season. He has asserted himself as the current front runner for the NL Rookie of the Year award, but what other hardware can he take home?

Two-Man Chase for ROY

Throughout the last few months Alonso and Fernando Tatis Jr. of the San Diego Padres have emerged as the top two contenders for the award. Alonso has the edge in hits, home runs, RBIs and walks, Tatis has more triples, stolen bases and a better batting average. Outside of certain categories, both players have very similar stats. Tatis’ defense could be the ultimate factor for the award, but Alonso playing for a winning team could boost his own status as well.

Both players have already put together terrific rookie campaigns. Tatis has flown up the polls for the award since the All-Star break. In MLB’s latest poll he actually had more first place votes than Alonso, but still remained in second place. The second half slump also hurt Alonso in the rankings, but his bat has comeback to life over the last two weeks. Alonso is also two home runs away from breaking the NL rookie record.

Can Alonso Win MVP?

To keep it simple, no. Cody Bellinger and Christian Yelich have separated themselves from the rest of the league the same way Alonso and Tatis have for the ROY. If Alonso gets extremely hot again and pushes past 50 home runs, he could enter his name in the discussion. He will also need some help from the Mets as well, knocking the Brewers out of contention could certainly help his case.

Alonso still needs plenty of luck to even become a finalist for the MVP. He will also be in consideration for the sliver slugger for first base. His competition will feature Josh Bell, Freddie Freeman and Max Muncy. If Alonso can take home the award, he will become the second Mets first baseman to take home a sliver slugger award, first being Keith Hernandez.

Leave a comment!

%d bloggers like this: