Rangers rookie Nils Lundkvist wins Lars-Erik Sjoberg award

The New York Rangers have announced that Nils Lundkvist has won the Lars-Erik Sjoberg award ass the top rookie in training camp.

The New York Rangers have announced the winner of this year’s Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award. Defenseman Nils Lundkvist takes home the award which is given annually to the top Rangers rookie in Training Camp as selected by the media.

The 5-foot-11, 187-pound defenseman was drafted in the first round (28th overall) of the 2018 NHL Entry Draft. A Pitea, Sweden native, Lundkvist is playing in North America for the first time this season after spending parts of the last four years with Lulea HF of the Swedish Hockey League (SHL).

Lundkvist, 21, led all Rangers rookies this preseason with three points (three assists) in four games. His three points were tied for the most among New York defensemen and third-most among all Rangers skaters. (Via NYRPR)

In the preseason opener against the Islanders on Sept. 26, Lundkvist was one of two Rangers (Adam Fox) to skate in over 20 minutes with 21:11 TOI. On Oct. 1 in New Jersey, Lundkvist found his way on the scoresheet with an assist on fellow Swede, Mika Zibanejad’s goal. Playing in the second of a back-to-back on Oct. 2, in Boston, Lundkvist helped lead the Rangers to their overtime win with two assists in the first period of that game. For his final act of the preseason, Lundkvist recorded a shot in 18:44 minutes of ice time in the Blueshirts’ 6-2 win against New Jersey at Madison Square Garden.

Past Sjoberg Winners

The Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award, which was first presented in 1988, honors the memory of Lars-Erik Sjoberg, who was the Rangers chief European scout for eight years. During his tenure with the Blueshirts, Sjoberg played a prominent role in the team’s decision to draft Europeans such as Tomas Sandstrom, Jan Erixon, and Ulf Dahlen.

Lundkvist joins an impressive group of past winners of this award;

1988 Mike Richter

1989 Troy Mallette

1990 Steven Rice

1991 Tony Amonte

1992 Peter Andersson

1993 Mattias Norstrom

1994 Mattias Norstrom

1995 Niklas Sundstrom

1996 Eric Cairns

1997 Marc Savard

1998 Manny Malhotra

1999 Kim Johnsson

2000 Filip Novak

2001 Dan Blackburn

2002 Jamie Lundmark

2003 Dominic Moore

2005 Henrik Lundqvist

2006 Nigel Dawes and Brandon Dubinsky

2007 Marc Staal

2008 Lauri Korpikoski

2009 Matt Gilroy

2010 Derek Stepan

2011 Carl Hagelin

2013 Jesper Fast

2014 Anthony Duclair

2015 Oscar Lindberg

2016 Jimmy Vesey

2017 Filip Chytil

2018 Lias Andersson

2019 Adam Fox

2021 Nils Lundkvist


Lundkvist is expected to be on the opening night lineup and paired with veteran defenseman Patrik Nemeth. The Rangers will open their season on Wednesday in Washington and then head to Madison Square Garden for their home op[ener on Thursday night.

Mentioned in this article:

More about: